Numbering of components

Hello!

Sorry if my questions look obvious, I’m an absolute beginner (Eagle user until now).
I am trying to draw my first schematic. I have a µP, and for the moment I have implemented
only the power supply capacitors. So here is the first problem. I have added SMD capacitors.
All the same type, 0.1µ ceramic. I would expect the software to number them automatically.
C1, C2, etc… But it doesn’t. There is a C?, that’s it. The most surprosing is that if I edit
the capacitor, I can set the same reference to 2 capacitors, there is apparently no rule against it.
Is this a feature? I first thought that reference may have another meaning, but in this case,
it should not appear on the PCB, so the C? is probably the component name.
I didn’t find an explanation to this in the first 20 (or so) items of the search, whith is also
surprising. Can anybody explain me how to have an automatic numbering? Or even manual
but that forbids name reuse?

Thanks!

Pascal

Have a look at the buttons in the top toolbar. One of them has the tooltip annotate schematic.
The same tool is also found under the menu “tools”

1 Like

Hello!
Thanks for your reply. It works fine!
Is there an option somewhere to make it automatically? I have added a new capacitor,
it doesn’t change anything to the auto numbering I just made, but the new cap is again
numbered C?.
Pascal

The workflow in kicad is to design the schematic and not worry about such things until one is far enough to make a first draft of the pcb. Then one does the annotation. (It really doesn’t matter until that point.)

Except that you can’t run ERC until you annotate the schematic.