No library "Resistors_ThroughHole" on loading netlist

I’m pretty new to KiCad, and on a PCB I’ve been working on for a couple of weeks, I now get this error when trying to import a netlist in PcbNew

Netlist Load Error
Error loading netlist.
IO_ERROR: fp-lib-table files contain no lib with nickname 'Resistors_ThroughHole'
from C:/Jenkins/workspace/windows-kicad-msys2-stable/src/kicad/common/fp_lib_table.cpp : FindRow() : line 623

This worked before, and appears related to this change:

Hurrah for random cloud changes breaking installed functionality because somebody wants to bikeshed folder names, I guess.

How can I fix this?

This is the danger faced if you are using “live” github libraries: sometimes changes are going to be made.

We try to keep these to a minimum. We also try to improve the quality of the libs. Sometimes these goals compete.

To fix this, find all instances of symbols in your schematic that have footprints that look like “Resistors_ThroughHole:xxxxx” and change that to “Resistors_THT:xxxxx”

You can either do this by hand or in a text-editor.

1 Like

:grinning:

PS: I don’t think the change you linked to is what caused this, as that one is related to the 3D model folder, not the footprint folder names…

If I were to guess it sounds like the footprint association (EEschema/CvPCB) has stored some entries that can’t be found anymore.

PCBnew > Preferences > Footprint Libraries Manager…

Find the footprint library NickName that now contains the Resistors_ThroughHole.pretty or whatever it’s called now.

Then off to EEschema. Start CvPCB. It should have the new NickName that you found out earlier listed on the left.
Is that so?

Now you have to re-assign the footprints which still point to the old footprint library.

2 Likes

@joan_sparky you are right. I should not have been so quick to accept responsibility for this :wink: The referenced change was fixing 3D model paths.