No footprints in added library

I hereby certify that I am not simply asking someone else to design a footprint for me.

Hi total noob in KiCad (and computers and software in general), am trying to improve.
So I’m following a guide on designing a PCB. This one PCB Guide Part 2 - Beg... | Keyboard Designer Wiki @ ai03.me . Right now I’m at the step where I need to add footprints to the components. For one of those components I need to add footprints of an imported library. However there are no footprints in the library I added. I probably did something wrong, but I can’t figure out what I did.

This is the library GitHub - ai03-2725/MX_Alps_Hybrid: KiCad Library of custom MX-Alps footprints
I added the .pretty to project specific libraries.

Also sorry if I labelled the question wrong or if this question has been asked numerous times. Like I said I’m not good at this like at all.

You don’t say but are you using v6?

What does the entry in your library table look like? For example my personal footprints live under:

/home/me/lib/kicad/My.footprints

and inside at the first level are the *.kicad_mod files. (The directory doesn’t have to be called *.pretty, that’s just a convention some peope use.) I notice that the github repo you pointed to has several *.pretty subdirectories and *.kicad_mod files inside. Each of those should be a separate library entry.

I’m not entirely sure what you mean with v6. I have git version 2.38 on windows 10.

I have all the libraries saved locally, so they’re like github/project/MX_Alps_Hybrid.pretty. Should I separate all the files from MX_Alps_hybrid an just out them directly in the project folder?

KiCad version. Some people are still using v5.