Newby - 48-LQFP Symbols & Footprints

Hi folks;

I’m just getting started with KiCad and CAD in general. So I have a printed (.pdf) schematic that I want to copy/enter into KiCad’s Schematics editor so I can start in on a new board.

Bear with me (please!) my understanding right now is at this level, Footprint goes in PCB, Symbol goes in Schematic editor :slight_smile: I found a footprint in KiCad for an LQFP-48 (which is perfect) but can’t seem to find a Symbol for the same.

Can they be converted or something? How can I get the equivalent footprint in a Symbol?

Go ahead, shoot me if you must! :wink:

There are no generic symbols for these complex units. The generic symbols are provided for simple elements like: resistor , capacitor, diode, etc. So, you need to draw it yourself. But you have to know that this is the bad approach.
It’s better to take a look at the source schematic once more, find the real type of that unit (probably microcontroller) and search for it or draw but not as a “black box”.

Apparently it’s also known as a SOT313-2 (LQFP-48). Seems odd that it exists as a Footprint but not as a Symbol.

You have to understatnd that schematic should present some idea. Using blackboxed items does not show this idea at a glance.

Hi
No worry, I am newbe too:)
You want to make some circuit. First, you draw it in schematic. You don’t worry too much about footprints. In fact, you can use many different footprints to create some versions or flavours of your circuit.
For example, what I do quite often, when my schematic is ready, I assign thru-hole components and make a board with them. The I send it to produce a pcb in smart-prototyping.com and I solder myself. Then, when the circuit works I redesign it using SMD components to save cost and space.
So, schematics goes first. Footprint goes later.
Ok.