Newbie workflow suggestions for non-standard antenna design

Hi! I am just getting started with KiCAD (and EDA period). Naturally my first project is not the standard pile of resistors and ICs, but a patch antenna with an SMA connector. I am having trouble filling zones and connecting them to the relevant traces. Perhaps someone can walk me through the basic approach (zones may not be the right one).

Design elements:

• large copper rectangle (or more than one) on the front
  • connected together by traces of well-controlled width AND length (sub-millimeter control needed)
  • trace going to center pin of SMA and connecting patches
  • SMA mounted on back; through holes protruding to front (found and added footprint successfully)
  • ground plane on entire back
  • pads all around back side SMA for solid solder connection to ground plane (through legs soldered to pads on front just for mechanical strength)

Should I be using filled zones? Should the zones be on the net associated with the SMA central pin? Why don’t they fill (have gotten them too, unpredictably, unrepeatably)? Can I do trace length fine control? How do I customize the rear-side SMA solder pad interface?

I feel like I’m asking for things that simply may not be supported, but new to EDA, I can’t know for sure. Appreciate any advice!

It sounds like what you are attempting is possible with KiCAD. However, KiCAD doesn’t actually support this kind of design work so there will be some workaround and sleight-of-hand as you coerce it into performing some unnatural acts.

You may find it easier to create the antenna as a footprint, rather than a circuit. Each patch would be defined as an SMT pad (or group of overlapping pads). Likewise for the transmission line elements. You may have to define separate footprints for the topside and bottom side geometries.

Can you post a sketch, dimensioned drawing, or even a screenshot (from, e.g., Sonnet) of your antenna design?

Dale