Newbie question

Hello everyone,

i am a newbie in this forum as well as a newly engineering student who tries to stay as far away as possible from windows and anything related to it. So, i am trying to learn KiCAD on my slackware-current box.

I managed to install KiCAD-5.1.9 easily as i had the possibility to compile and make&&make install the package through Ponce’s repo ( a very common third party package repository highly adopted by slackware users). However, i found compiling and installing the latest version a non-trivial issue as it appears to be partly python, partly C++ and some assembler?!.

I followed my own usual UNIX way of building a package as well as the method listed on KiCAD download page but whichever way i tried , the compile returned an error msg (requiring a wxPython which was even harder to get and install on slakware).

After a lot of help from the linuxquestion.org/slackware/, I managed to install KiCAD-6.0.9 (apparently, with several options that disabled the requirement of wxPython) however, I don’t seem to be able to populate the library directories nor change the library paths in preferences.

I downloaded and un-packaged all libraries in a local folder and when i try to point the KiCAD/prefernce//set-path to such folder, I can’t (as soon as i restart KiCAD the path on prefernce, is back to default). So, i tried to leave the default path and populate the library by adding a new library (from schematic/add_new_library). It doesn’t allow me to do it as a bulk (unless i add all files one-by-one).

I recall i did manage to do this successfully (bulk-move) on KiCAD-5.1.9.

What am I doing wrong? or not doing correctly?

Any inputs will be welcome.

Thanks

1 Like

however, welcome to the forum.

In debian linux, there are extra deb packages you have to install in order to get everything related to kicad 6.0.x. Here’s a list of deb packages I added.

Unpacking kicad-libraries (6.0.6+dfsg-1~bpo10+1) over (6.0.5+dfsg-1~bpo10+1) ...