Newbie question. Does it make sense to start to learn with KiCad 5 (on linux)

I am new to pcb design. So I guess I will not make anything final in the next weeks. Nevertheless a certain stability in the software is necessary to learn it. Does it make sense to start to learn with KiCad 5. I am on arch linux.

many thanks

In my opinion: yes. It’s so much better. And you would have to re-learn menu structures etc., and the component library systems aren’t compatible. I think you will save half of the work if you go straight ahead to nightly builds and then to 5.0.0 which will be released hopefully within some weeks. There’s one big con, though: the documentation isn’t up-to-date.

3 Likes

I agree with eelik. Especially if you are working on a home project (i.e. not commercial)

My experience is using Windows10.

About a month and a half ago I decided to try Kicad (4.0.7). I loaded it and made a simple schematic and started on the PCB. I found there were two “canvases” (basically a canvas is an interchangeable interface). I found the legacy canvas awkward and the advanced canvas could not do all one needed to do.
I ended up uninstalling 4.0.7 (my recommended if you have already installed it) and installed V5. V5 as stated is sooo much better and I’ve been running the nightly’s with absolutely no issues.

However I have read some folks were / are having issues with Linux. You might search the forum for those issues and see if they apply to your installation.

Good luck.

BTW I have my first design ready to go to OSH Park as soon as my testing is complete.

Really, what is the status of v5? Is RC2 stable enough for production use, apart from documentation? There were postings about unexplained slowness, but I am not sure they referred to RC2.

Philosophically I would not use an RC-anything for production.

In Windows10 I’ve not seen any slowness. My design is small but I downloaded the Olinux design and played with it a little, again no noticed slowness.