Newbie needs help making footprint for LED

I’m a complete newbie working with Kicad. The last PCB I made was in 1993.
Picking up the hobby again now I’m retired.
I’m developing a PCB containing OSRAM LED’s: KWDPLS32.EC
https://www.osram.com/ecat/KW%20DPLS32.EC/com/en/class_pim_web_catalog_103489/prd_pim_device_2191118/
Since there is no footprint in the Kicad library, I have to make it myself.
This is what I made so far, two pads.

But in the data sheet there is much more: what is ment by that “Cu area”? And how do I incorporate it in the footprint? On which layer?
And what is the green hatched “solder resist”? Is it a solder mask?
All new to me, some help very welcome.
Thx,
Peter
Schermafbeelding_20221130_135456

Hello! This is a fairly complex footprint. Let me try to explain what is intended:

The “Cu Area” is showing the regions that the footprint is meant to be attached to. They are suggesting it be attached to a massive copper pour on both sides for heatsinking purposes. You don’t need to worry about that here, and you can’t add it to the footprint as the dimensions are not specified, but you should consider it in layout when you use the part. The “solder resist” is the inverse of your solder mask openings - because it matches the pads, if you enable the F.Mask layer in your footprint pads that will be fine. The stencil is the equivalent of the F.Paste layer - because this doesn’t quite match the pad sizes, you will need to make a pad of type “SMD Aperture” set to the F.Paste layer for those three elements.

In addition, your footprint is missing a Fab layer (showing the dimensions of the part and the pin 1 indicator corner), a courtyard layer (0.25mm from all exposed copper, 0.25mm from edge of part, whichever is closer) and a silkscreen layer.

2 Likes

Cu area is the area where the copper on the PCB should be placed. Think about it as the landing pads for the contacts. The “foot print” in the context of the datasheet represents the contacts of the LED.