Newbie: Libraries - KiCad vs. SnapEDA vs. others?

I am just starting to learn KiCad (today) and have zero experience with EDA/PCB software.
I can see that KiCad offers their own symbol & footprint libraries, and that third parties like
SnapEDA also offer these libraries. I tried “googling”, but can’t find the difference.
What is the main difference between the native KiCad libraries and the other third party ones
like SnapEDA? And do people install more than one at the same time, or do you pick ONE set
of libraries?

Cheers,

Neal

In general KiCad’s own libraries better guaranteed working in KiCad. Not all of them are bug free but most of them are pretty good. I have usually taken components from these libraries if there happens to exist a proper symbol and/or footprint. If it’s not found, I have downloaded from SnapEDA. They have some useful parts but not all. They generate KiCad library components from some generic format (I guess) and it happens every now and then that they have bugs or at least they need to be adjusted. Copper is mostly in the right place in the footprints, and often that’s the most critical part of it anyway. It’s easier to replace or fix other layers.

I copy SnapEDA parts to my personal libraries and if a KiCad part needs modifying, I copy it, too.

I am using only my own libraries. They contains only symbols of elements I have used so they are much, much smaller then KiCad or any other libraries. If I need a footprint I have never used I copy one from KiCad lib, give it my name and modify it a little.