New way to view and share KiCad designs on the web

Hello!

I wanted to share a project I have been working on for the last several months called http://eyrie.io that we hope may be useful to many of you!

A long time collaborate of mine and I created some new software that lets you view and share KiCad schematics and layouts in your web browser.

Here’s an example of a pretty famous KiCad design in Eyrie:

The designs can be in GitHub, Dropbox or you can drag/drop files onto your web browser. Currently it works with Chrome, Safari and Firefox on desktop, tablet and mobile browsers.

We are using WebGL to render and most designs (even complex ones) can be zoomed and panned at high frame rates, even on mobile devices!

We added support for Octopart so you can augment your designs with detailed information about your specific design intent, as well as links directly to manufacturers and datasheets.

Our goal for Eyrie was to make an easy way to share and discuss designs on social media, forums, emails and messaging. You can easily post URLs to specific views or comments in a KiCad design.

Unlike emailing around attachments, you can control access to your designs in Eyrie, or choose to leave them public. You can even make your designs browsable on Eyrie without making the underlying KiCad files downloadable.

If you use Eyrie with GitHub or Dropbox, the Eyrie URLs you share will always reflect the latest versions of your designs.

Finally, Eyrie is FREE during beta, so please give it a try!

We would love to hear what you think. Honestly, harsh criticism of the idea or execution is just (if not more) useful than praise, so if you have the time we’d really appreciate it!

Best,

Jeremy & Zak

PS. We’re on Twitter at @eyrieio if you want to keep up with our latest progress.

4 Likes

It looks interesting, somehow I was expecting to be able to comment on individual traces and components: a tool for PCB reviews. Is something like this planned?