New to making symbols for eeschema and pcbnew

I am new to making library symbols.
When I make a symbol library (export symbol from eeschema) where should I put the corresponding .lib file ?
When I make the corresponding symbol footprint, where should I put the footprint file? I know that it has to go into my personal library or libraries, but I am not sure where would be the best place to put those files. And I don’t know if the footprint and the symbol are supposed to go into the same subdirectory.

The only conventions are your own.

The simplest is to not think much about it and just put them in the same (or sub) directory of the project you are currently working on. Don’t overthink it. It’s not very useful to make a whole library structure with 20 libraries if each only has one schematic symbol or footprint.

This is perfectly fine, especially if you have no intentions to re-use those parts in other projects.

If you want to go further (“More organized”) you have to think of a place to store them yourself. I have a directory with the name “~/projects/kicad/” where most of my KiCad projects reside. In such a directory you can make a “library” sub directory on the same level as your projects.

1 Like

You can look at the structure of the standard library for guidance. In /usr/share/kicad you can see the subdirectory library/ which contain pairs of .lib and .dcm files. So I created a directory ~/lib/kicad which I added to the symbol paths table which contains Feline.lib and Feline.dcm (just as an example :wink:). This then shows up as a library Feline from which I can select my own components.

The footprints are in .kicad_mod files which can be put in a similar directory.

Don’t worry if the directory name turns out to be unsatisfactory. You can move it around provided you change the entries in the relevant tables.

1 Like

Your choice.