New to KiCad, how am I doing so far?

Hello,

I just started learning KiCad, following the tutorial, the program is very intuitive and I found it easy to learn, thank you for all the hard work.

The first schematic and layout I created is a simple board for a PCB-mounted transformer, which will eventually be part of a PSU for a Raspberry based audio streamer. Apart from the transformer, it includes a fuse, a voltage switch, and in- and out- terminals. Really quite simple, but since I am new to electronics, I would really appreciate if someone could take a quick look at my work. The board will be a standard 1.6mm FR4 board with 2oz copper weight.

I have uploaded the zipped up project to here: AC Board Project

Any comments, good or bad, are greatly appreciated!

It should work. All else is pure luxury.

If you give the same PCB-Job to 10 people, you’ll get at least 12 different results.
What would look different if I had to do it is about the following:

The terminal block on the primary side could have a bit more distance between the pins. (What do you have? At most 3 mm.) I would go for the 7.5 or even 10mm - version of the same series.

“+” and “-” has no place on a AC-board, that’s DC stuff. It kills nobody, but on the first glance it would puzzle me if I had to repair such a board. “L” and “N” on the primary side (“L” leading to the fuse) would be OK, on the secondary side, not even that, “AC out” (or “~”) is enough, mentioning the voltage would be nice.

The footprints (self made it seems) are OK if they never get close to a pick-and place machine. The coordinate 0,0 is at an edge, it should be at the center of the part.

On the secondary side, where you connect the coils, I would get rid of the short 45°-segments. They form an acute angle between traces, forming an etch trap. With those tracks it’s no issue, but on fine tracks it could ruin your day.