New to KiCad - GND are not connected when run DRC check - and not in PCB layout

Hi

I’m new to KiCad but worked with other software. Got some strange issues that I just can’t figure out and hopefully it is just comething simple.

Fresh download of V6 and completed (almost) the first schematic. When I run the DRC check, it states the ground and shield not connected on the USB, which it is. It states VCC is not connected, which it is. When converting to PCB the keyswitches do not have a ground, just the two pins are connected to the same IO of the Atmega.

I’ve replaced symbols, changed the layout and still the same think. Multiple errors. Any help please.

The reset switch does not connect to the reset pin, just ground either side. The

The ISCP header is not connected yet btw.

I did try and atach the errors and multiple images but couldn’t due to new user

Any advice would be much appreciated

You have been ‘leveled up’ one. Try again. :wink:

1 Like

ah that typo!

Ah, here goes

The switch is ground both sides but not in the schematic. Even if I directly connect.

Those Cherry MX switches are connected to ground. But not in the PCB

I get an error where the shield and gnd are connected for the USB. Not sure why

Pin 14 is stating that it is not connected but in the PCB I can connect it, so maybe not an issue.

Can’t upload the error file, so here is a screen shot

Hope this helps. Puzzled here and google is not helping ha.

If I make the pin labels visable, then they’re named 1 and 3. Sure it not being 1 and 2 is clashing?

Due to D1 between VBUS and +5V, you’ll need to attach a PWR_FLAG to +5V. There’s a FAQ about PWR_FLAG and when to use it. The GND is already a power output due to the pin type of the USB socket that’s why it isn’t needed there.

You should check if pin 33 of the MCU can be connected to ground like that, it’s typed as bidirectional.

The other errors are just due to unconnected pins. Use a no-connect flag on those pins to silence this warning.