New to kiCad, does a footprint exist for SPST NO THT Switch

Hello

Note that this is my first project with KiCad and I have the schematic finished and am assigning the footprints to the components.

When it came to selecting a foot print for SWITCH TACTILE SPST-NO 0.05A 12V

https://www.digikey.ca/en/products/detail/e-switch/TL1107AF130WQ/378976?s=N4IgTCBcDaIKIHEwFYCMAGAtAOQCIgF0BfIA

I could not find a foot print that matched the switch. The switch is 6mm by 3.5mm with it legs making it a bit bigger.

In the Assign Footprints, I went through all of the switches and could not find a footprint that matched the switch that I have.

Question. Does this mean there is no footprint for my switch?

I really probably should not do this…

TL1107W.kicad_mod (876 Bytes)
TL1107W_2.kicad_mod (1.3 KB)

Took me 10 minutes total. It is NOT KiCad library rules compliant.

Pad dimensions are in mm, and the drill is imperial #55.
The annular ring may appear a little small, but it does comply with OshPark requirements for fabrication.

Fab layer contains the outline of the package.

Silk layer has lines for alignment.

ON EDIT:
TL1107W_2.kicad_mod (1.3 KB)
Changes made:
Increased the annular ring size a moderate amount.
Changed the resulting pad size to a 2 decimal mm value.
Added F.Fab layer lines to resemble the approximate pin locations.

1 Like

thanks for the quick reply. I copied the file to my KiCad libraries directory under Buttons. Then I was able to select the button. It does look correct.

At this point I am laying out the board. When this is complete and I am able to print the PCB layout to scale, I can check the size against the switch.

again Thank you very much.

Robert

2 Likes