Net-Tie without pads?

I’m routing a BGA and there are several pins that need to be tied to VCCO and GND. A two-pin net-tie works fine in the schematic to connect and label these pins (it is nice to have names other than +3V3 and GND for these pins), but in the layout these pins will be routed with a very short trace to a single via that connects to the proper power plane. There is no room for a pair of pads.

Is there any way to do this in KiCAD 4.0.7?

I am really new to this, so I may have misunderstood something in your question. To confirm, a net tie is a component used when you want a component to connect to a flooded area only at one point?

But in this case, wouldn’t connecting the pin directly to the net rather than using a net tie work properly because the only point that it will be connected will be through the via anyway, as the flood is on a different plane from the pin, and even if it weren’t, the other pins around it would prevent the flood from connecting to the pin?

A net tie has other uses as well. It is a workaround for every case where you need fine grained control over tracks that kicad otherwise has no feature for.

In this case he wants differing clearance settings in one area of the board then everywhere else. (near the bga @dnotq needs smaller clearances as there is not enough space for the normal clearance setting of the board.)

@dnotq i would use the net ties as follows:
Draw an imaginary clearance boundary (or even draw a real rectangle on one of the user layers.) Place the net-tie at this boundary. (with the pad that connects the net with the small clearance on the inside and the other on the outside.)

But there is another limitation. Kicad does not allow pads on an inside layer. This means you can not use this workaround if you plan on having your traces on the inside.)

1 Like