Net Names from schematic

Hello to all;
This is my first message so I would like to introduce myself first.
I am Jeff 63 years old, and I just decided to have a look at electronics stuff.
So I am a real newbie, and of course I’ll probably ask questions that look stupid. I apologize in advance.

Well, I started to see if I can solder components, and I bought a kit to build an adjustable power supply based on LM317.
I succesfully did it, and for me the next step is to be able to create new circuits.
So I started to use KiCad, and had the idea to try to replicate the PCB that comes with my Kit.
I have the schematic, and created it in KiCad, no major problems.
I decided to go ti the next step, and create the PCB. It is not to manufacture it, but just to learn KiCad.
After the schema was made, I created the Netlist, to be able to generate the PCB.
That is where my problem happend.
I have a copy of the pcb delivered in the kit, and I cannot reproduce it, easely.
I had to use the WireIt plugin to be able to rename all the netnames according the connections I see on the PCB.
I do not understand the rules behind the creation of the netlist, and the naming of each net name.
Is there someone that can help me understanding how it works.

If needed I can post pictures of both schematic, and the PCB, just let me know it.

Thanks in advance for the time you will spend reading my message.
Have a nice day.
Regards.
P.S Excuse my bad English, but I am French.

The net names are just the list of pads. I don’t know because I’ve never been concerned about it but they may simply come from the first two pads connected. On mine there is an A with a green line under it in the schematic tool. You can use that to name the nets whatever you want.

1 Like

In the schematic you can also put a label on each net. Easy but tedious.

2 Likes

WireIT is good for manual PCB naming, but keep in mind you have then diverged the SCH from the PCB.