Negative voltages/power representation

Sorry if this is obvious, but as a complete beginner to Kicad, and schematics in general (and with no-one to ask in the office who all use Cadence), I have a job to do where I have +ve voltages, GND and -ve voltages. How do I represent the -ve voltage - the power sections don’t have anything for -VCC, and it’s not editable if I use the standard VCC and want to change it.

Now, it’s possible I am going about this entirely the wrong way - but some background, the board need to take positive AND negative from a power supply, with GND coming from something else it is attached to, so I cannot just use VCC and GND, I need that -ve input as well.

James

Why are you using Kicad if all your coworkers use Cadence?

-VE or -VCC or +VCC or whatever are just nets, you can use a special power symbol or a Global Label with the correct name (then attach a PWR_FLAG to it to make DRC happy). There are a few negative power supply flags in the “power.lib” Kicad library, though they’re specific (-5V, -3.3V, etc.). It would probably be helpful to use one of those that matches your -VCC to avoid ambiguity.

I thought the Cadence thing would come up! The stuff I will be working on will be open source, so using an open source/free design system was thought to be the best way to make it available to everyone.

Thanks for the voltage info, that makes it clearer! Like I said, very much a beginner at this, software is usually my thing…

James

1 Like

Feel free to ask/search here, the community is usually very helpful.

Just make your own symbol.
(By the way a power symbol is nothing else than just a global label. It does nothing else.)
It does not even give you a pwr flag. In fact it needs to be connected to something defined as a power output. (a pwr flag gives you this power output type.)

The easiest way to create a custom power symbol is by copying one of the standard symbols.
(-12VA for example)
Give it the symbol name of your liking.