Need help with traces and netnames

This is my first time ever using kicad or anything to do with pcbs. i’m following a tutorial on how to create a pcb for a mechanical keyboard but i’m having trouble connecting pads to other pads via traces. in the tutorial it specifically states which pad to connect to which pad, but some of them are “incompatible” and are not allowing me to connect them. i’ve found a solution to this by renaming the netnames of the pads to be the same as its pair, but is this okay to do? are there any other fixes?

Welcome. Do I understand correctly that you don’t have a schematic but started directly on the PCB?

i created the schematic and finished it. now i’m just working on the pcb

Zip up your project and post it here, that will be much more helpful.

Because this is a brand new account its not letting me send any files:/ sorry

An admin will uplevel you in due course.

What do you mean by

???

Pardon me if my explanation is horrible because i have no idea what i’m talking about: on my pcb there are these pads with names on them. when i go to link two pads together via traces, it doesn’t give me the option(maybe because they’re not the same type or something?) but when i rename one of the pads to match the other pad that i’m trying to connect it to, it lets me connect them

Done. @aidankim5 post away.

1 Like

Keyboard.zip (56.9 KB)
hopefully this file has everything you need. i am also using kicad 4.0.5 because the tutorial is pretty old and it was easier to follow if i used the same version

Ah don’t do that. It will be much harder to help you. Install v6 and ignore all v4 tutes.