My EasyEDA to KiCad conversion tool

I started learning C++ about a year and a half ago, in my spare time, and it’s still the only language I can code in fluently. Though I’m not really good at it, I started LC2KiCad project a year ago as I think there eventually will be people who need to convert EasyEDA designs to KiCad (and it is not supported by either side). Project is at https://github.com/RigoLigoRLC/LC2KiCad.

Also available as AUR package aur/lc2kicad

I’m not good at designing architecture for programs. So this project is basically a practice playground for all that I’ve learned through C++ Primer Plus book. If anyone is willing to carry out a big overhaul then it’d be really awesome :smirk:

Things that works right now are:

• symbols (arc is still funky)
  • PCBs (with no SVG graphics support, like images, text and something else)
  • footprints (fill regions will be discarded because KiCad doesn’t allow them)

Currently experiencing some problems in understanding V6 library format so I just stopped migrating to new format. There’s also some difficulties identifying sub-parts in EasyEDA schematics.

(This one is a WIP screenshot taken last year; footprint from a user in LCEDA chat, with permission)

(A recently converted board of my friend, with permission)

Hope this is going to be useful for someone else; as a hobbyist I originally started with EasyEDA and switched to KiCad after on for being too laggy on larger boards.

P.S. Why is it called LC2KiCad? Because there’s already easyeda2kicad project, and LCSC owns EasyEDA. Also because it’s just called LCEDA in China.

4 Likes

I sometimes use EasyEDA to make footprints though, cause it’s got this nice distance constraint feature they called “smart dimensions” to organize pads. And then export to KiCad with the tool. This might not be a good example use case but I’ll just put it here.