Multiple PCBs from Single Schematic, take 2

Back in 2016 (v4.x?) I posed this question… can I have one schematic connected to multiple PCBs? There are many situations, but for example, a through-hole and SMT version of the same design. I learned that it was not possible, because the footprint mapping file was not actually a file, but embedded into the schematics.

I’m running into a similar situation again. Any chance that this is now possible in v6.0?

PCBs which render a schematic either with or without jumpers

Well the schematic still points to the footprints (unless you omit that information.) So I think you could have the same starting schematic, but would then have to make a copy in which you change the footprint information. I am no expert but I have been using 5.99>6.0 for some time and that is the way it works. Sorry I guess that is not the answer you wanted.

Another thing…I recently cheaped out and ordered a board which is only two layer so include a bunch of jumpers to try to keep the ground plane more solid. I guess there is no way to have jumper with the same net on both ends. That also seems unfortunate but even if I designed my own CAD software it is difficult to imagine a way around it. I use this as an example of…lets say you wanted to do a two layer and four layer board based on the same schematic. If the two layer used jumpers then those would need to be in the schematic and would introduce new nets.

1 Like

I think that you can have the same schematic sheet included in multiple schematics as a simple, complex or flat hierarchical sheets. Although, if I understand correctly you are not able to have different footprints on the different instances.

You are basically adding a bunch of PTH zero ohm resistors, so it would be strange not to have them in the schematic and not have their pads on different nets.