Multi-Board Layout

I have been looking into making a design that would have a central control board, which then controls separate LED panels for 7 segment displays. If I had this all on one board, it would have 120 wires running out of the board, with with seperate panels, I can bundle it up into some nice ribbon cables (or even less, if the i2c drivers are on the individual boards).

The best resource I can find on this forum is this, and elsewhere I have found reccommendations to make a breakaway board, and have that single board made.

1. Seeing as that link is pretty old, has multi-pcb been included in a more recent release of KiCad?
  2. If not, how would I go about making breakaway PCBs in KiCad?

Not that I am aware.

https://forum.kicad.info/search?q=panel

https://forum.kicad.info/search?q=mousebites

I’m not an expert at this yet, so there may be a better answer then mine that comes along.

Your post is lacking a little bit in the details; and that will also reflect in the quality of my reply; but my advice will be worth exactly what you paid for it. :sunglasses:

1.) I highly recommend that you use a data bus instead of ribbon cable. I2C may/may not be optimal for your design, but there are other protocols.

2.) It would probably be easier to layout the actual PCB easier if each board were designed separately, then manufactured in the quantities needed. Otherwise you are going to end up with significant duplication’s in both the schematic and board layout that really are not needed.

I have a design to talk to different boards. In Eeschema, what I did in the creation of the design was to put ONLY the “RX circuit” at the end of the TX design; and the “TX circuit” on the front of the RX design. This helped me to visualize how the bus data was going to be handled. When the design was completed, I deleted these extra circuits so they would not interfere with the PCB design.

There is nothing stopping you having several boards on one panel, but: