Mirror (Left Hand) version of PCB?

Is there a way to make a left hand version of my existing (right-hand) PCB Layout? I am an utter newbie in KiCAD but it’s already replaced Eagle for me.

You can’t mirror footprints as the real world parts can’t be ‘mirrored’, thus just mirroring the layout would do you no good, you have to route it for left-hand.
Or you mean something else and I just missed you completely?!

2 Likes

if you mean you would like to see the pcb upside-down, this feature is available in nightly
‘Flip board view’ option

1 Like

I wouldn’t want to flip the footprints, just route existing with a mirrored board automatically. Left hand assembly versus the existing right handed assembly. Does that make sense, or am I thinking about this wrong?

From my interpretation you don’t account for the devices/footprints being non-symmetrical along both axis to make this work.

Simple devices like resistors or non-polar capacitors can do it - symmetrical on two axes.
Diodes are only symmetrical to one axis.
Anything else usually is not symmetrical at all.

This means, if you ‘mirror’ the arrangement of the devices, the tracks need to go to other pins - it can’t just be mirrored.

The only time you can ‘mirror’ the layout without problem is when you FLIP it to the backside (if you had been on the front before, or vise versa). But that means all the devices/tracks that had been on the front are now on the back and vice versa. It’s not exactly a mirror, but looks like one if looked at from the top (or bottom).
That’s why @maui mentioned this visual board flipping option in the opengl canvas.
But this won’t be applicable to real world hardware…

Do me a favor. Take an IC, any will do.
Place it in front of you on the table on a sheet of paper. Note where it’s pin #1 is.
Place marks for the pins on the paper, noting pin #1 as well.
Then MIRROR the footprint on the paper how you think this should be working.