Minimum track spacing (8/8 or 0.2mm) failing in my project

Hey,

I designed a couple of circuit boards and I want to get them manufactured but so far 3 out of 3 places that I’ve contacted told me that the track spacing/clearances are not up to spec.

The spec calls for 8/8 for the smaller board with 0.5mm drill holes, I might be mistaken but I figured 0.8 mil was essentially the same as 0.2mm which is the spacing I used since I’m more used to working with metric.

I’ve tried two online DFM tools but so far they haven’t really shown anything that I’ve been able to perceive as important, I guess I could go back and change all spacing to 0.2032mm but given the amount of work I’d rather not, any ideas or suggestions?

Github Project Link.

I’m sorry if this is a stupid question but I’m relatively new to PCB design and still getting the hang of this.

(EDIT: I was fooled by x/y/r, so there’s no problem here.)

What’s this?

And more importantly - why doesn’t DRC warn about it?

I like the looks of tighly packed parallell tracks, but this example above screams DRC issues :slight_smile:
What routing mode do you use for the layout?

EDIT: indeed changing to 8mil spacing will get you plenty of work.
Unfortunately 0.032mm matters for the fabs. Have you tried with PCBWay? I use their services for short runs/prototypes, and they did not have problems with smaller clearances. 5/5 no problem for them.

Are these below intentional? :

Hi Fred,

Thanks for responding, PCBWay is actually my preferred FAB at this point, the issue is that due to rather high currents (up to 60A) I Have to go with thick copper layers which again restrict minimum trace width and spacing (6oz for the parent/main board and 13oz for the smalller daughter board).

I’d probably also have to remove any connector with .2mm pitch and swap for .254mm so I can route in between the pins for the signals.

Sounds like that might be my best option, thx :slight_smile:

Hey Eelik,