Measurement units in Library Manager

Hello people. I’m a new user of Kicad EDA. Newby. My previous EDA were are ACCEL and P-CAD. I’m not a electronic developer, it’s a my hobby. I draw various circuits of self-made devices. Since last years ago I begun to migrate to unproprietar software (MS Office --> LibreOffice firstly in 2014, MS Visio --> LibreCad later, MS Windows – > Ubuntu 16/17 in 2016). Queye to migrating is came to EDA now. I want to abandon PCAD and ACCEL. But:

1. I have a various curcuits and pcbs designed in PCAD/ACCEL
  2. I have a my own libraries of components
  3. I have standards to design all in millimeter measuring units on scematic diagrams.

My question relates to creating of my own libraries of schematic components.

Library of components must include several similar components. For example, resistors. Every component must have a vector image, points of contacts, and some text attributes. Vector image drawn in ISU units. My resistor image is a rectangle of 2x5 millimeters size. I do not use inches and mils in schematic diagrams, only millimeters in use, only. I attemp to create a new library. “Resistors”. Run a Library Editor. And I can’t to change measurement units from mils to millimeters. I can’t set grid to millimeter’s scale. Consequently I can’t draw a rectangle in millimeters. How can I do it?

It’s not possible in KiCad today, maybe in future, if someone decides to write the code.

Kikad is a semi-death project? Nobody develop this?

People who engage in silly hyperbole will not be treated seriously. Unless you happen to be POTUS I guess.

Like I said, no.

I suppose we could have an FAQ entry “KiCad doesn’t have my favorite feature and now I’m mad”, but people who need it aren’t usually amenable to practical advice.

On the contrary, but there’s so much to do and the schematics isn’t so critical in many respects. Maybe within one or two years it may be changed dramatically.