Manipulating Zones

Hello. Greetings to all.
I am a student new to kicad. I wanted to know how to remove the top copper layer using rubout option. I have heard that increasing the milling width can also help in some ways. I would like to know how to do it.
Kindly help me with your valuable suggestions.

Thankfully,
sheethal

Moved to a new topic.

Iā€™m not 100% sure what you are asking but it sounds like something you can do by editing the zone properties. Move your cursor over the zone boundary and hit the ā€˜eā€™ key for edit. You can reset your clearance from there.

If you want to remove it do the same thing but hit the ā€˜deleteā€™ key instead.

PCBNew doesnā€™t have a ā€œruboutā€ option, so you need to more completely describe your intention here so we understand what you mean. Hopefully someone can translate your intention into the correct terminology for PCBNew.

Milling boards to make PCBs, while is now a common way of hobbyists making their own boards in this era of inexpensive desktop CNC mills, is not the normal industry method of making PCBs. Actually, if you can wait a couple weeks, getting boards professionally made is often much more cost effective than any of the DIY methods. Thus PCBNew doesnā€™t have any direct support for creating milling g-codes. Typically this is done in a gerber to g-code post processing process. Iā€™ve never done something like this so I canā€™t give any pointers. Or are you just misunderstanding the PCB fabrication process?

1 Like

Thank you for the attention.

My intention here is to remove the copper from the outer region of the trace the trace, i.e, say I need to remove copper from the left side of a particular trace.

I am using elevenslab machine for printing and the rub out option is available in the designpro. I mentioned rubout just to clarify my intention, am sorry if that was confusing.