Major feature request regarding drawing

Hi all,

I am new to KiCAD. However I am not new to PCB design. I started on Eagle and moved to Altium and have now moved to KiCAD. I am very happy with KiCAD so far.

Something that has bothered me for years with ALL PCB design software that I have used is how they are all absolutely awful to draw in. If anybody has every used a solid modelling cad application such as Solidworks, Onshape, Inventor or Fusion, you will know that drawing 2D sketches in those applications is extremely fast and efficient. You only have to enter literally the minimum of information in order to define your sketch.

I have long dreamed of having a 2D sketch solver built into a pcb tool. Imagine drawing a board outline perfectly in a few seconds. later on, if you decide later to make it a bit wider, with a couple of clicks you can adjust the relevant dimension and have everything update.

Even better, imagine drawing a footprint and not having to mess around with grids and a calculator to try and get the pads input how they need to be. You could draw them in a few seconds.

I know there are some open source 2D sketch solvers around. Is this something that the developers would consider looking into at some point? I swear it would be a massive productivity boost and remove a significant source of frustration from users.

I would like to hear opinions from others on this topic.

3 Likes

Yes, this is an interesting topic

@twl is working on it

2 Likes

Thanks I missed this.
I see some comments asking if this is just a fancy sort of snapping. It is NOT. It is a constraint solver which is a very different thing.

A big plus on the board outline.

Could you go into a bit more detail with the footprint comment:

You may consider a MCAD ECAD collaboration workflow

here a link to a document describing what is used in the industry for implementing this process:
https://www.prostep.org/fileadmin/downloads/ProSTEP-iViP_Use-Case_ECAD-MCAD-Collaboration_1.0.pdf