Looking for someone to design electronics for a piece of robotic equipment

I need to find a person or company capable of designing a machine similar to a cnc machine with 5 axis robot for spraying fiberglass into boat molds, does any one have a recommendation of who I can reach to start this project?

There are companies that sell arm robots that can do that type of task (spraying paint, filler, etc). I don’t have any experience with them offhand, but a quick google search find a number of companies that produce them. Probably best to contact some of them before starting to design one.

google robot arm sprayer

cnczone or the linuxcnc forum are better places to ask for this:

or, if you’d like an open-source machine-controller running under real-time linux:

I have some knowledge and interest in this kind of thing and I would love to take on this project if I was capable of a normal amount of concentration.

20 or so years ago I wrote custom software for an up to 8 axis CNC (lineair Bresenham interpolation), and the software worked quite well, but I never finished it, and I’ve now been overtaken by the GRBL program which is very similar to what I wrote, but has more features, and several nice front-ends for a PC such as bCNC.

I started a long time ago on an AVR uC, but recently compiled GRBL for an STM32 (Blue Pill) and did confirmed that it talks with bCNC and deliveres step and direction pulses with an oscilloscope.

An option with “more capable” hardware would be to use LinuxCNC with a Mesa FPGA card. With such a solution you also would not have to design custom electronics hardware.

Talking about hardware.