LM317 symbol creation

Hi, first time posting. A complete beginner here :slight_smile:

This is not KiCad specific. I am confused about creating a schematic symbol from this unencrypted LM317 library. It’s a PSpice .LIB file (thanks hermit)

My first confusion is that it contains many SUBCKT headers (do you call it headers?), unlike online tutorials. Which .SUBCKT should I choose ?

Secondly, this is a 3-pin voltage regulator, but the SOT-223 package here appears to have 4 pins, two of which are actually outputs!. What exactly should I do ? There is no .SUBCKT in the lib file with three pins.

For symbol creation, I open the .lib text file in LTSpice, highlight “LM317_TRANS”, right click and choose create symbol. It’s easy and creates a generic symbol (but 4 pins ?!!!)

Sorry if this is off-topic. Hope this doesn’t bother anyone.

Cheers.

There seems to be 11 LM317 symbols already in the KiCAD library. They all seem to be package dependent. Which physical unit are you going to use? Surface mount? Through hole? You just need to choose according to package type. Package type here is the physical configuration of the unit.

Thanks hermit. It’s LM317T through-hole, but tbh, I want to know how to actually deal with this. Installing KiCad again and choosing a symbol is easier, of course, but I won’t go that way :slight_smile:

Are you talking about the schematic symbol? Are you talking about a SPICE model? I think the developers version has some limited support for SPICE. If that’s the case, I can’t help. I use the stable version.

In reality, there are only 3 separate connections:
a) Input
b) Adjust
c) Output

The 4th physical pin is electrically the same as the output pin.

In your schematic symbol, create one with only 3 pins, and assign the correct name to the correct pin number. It would be good practice to organize the symbol pins by function from left to right, and not numerically from lowest to highest.