Library part missing in personal libs

Hi, Sorry if I am asking in the wrong place but I am new to Kicad.

I have a odd scenario happening after I have updated from version 7 to 8.0.4
If I use the add symbol in the schematic editor my libs which I have created show up as the lib number but only some of the parts are listed. however if I go to the symbol editor all the parts in the same lib are displayed.
If I right click on a part for an pervious schematic and edit the part with edit library symbol the all the part appear.
I have set my global path in preferences and double check these are correct and that my libs are in the folder in the documents folder. This all looks OK. I have also check the content of the lib files and all the entries are listed.

But add symbol does not list the contents of the lib.

Is this a bug or have missed something. Any ideas please.

Many thanks

If you press a to add a symbol in the schematic editor, then the next keypress (if you wait a second or two) will end up in the search bar, and KiCad limits the results to symbols fitting with the search function. Are you sure this search box is empty?

Thank you. The entire is not empty but the majority are not listed. But as I said the symbol editor lists all the lib entries.
D

What does this mean:

I guess you misunderstood.

It is this search box which has to be empty:

KiCad only lists libraries and symbols that match the search string, so at this moment I can not select any symbol, because there are no aaron symbols in any of my libraries. If this search box (accidentally) has one or two letters, then a lot of the symbols get hidden, but you likely still see some.

When you upgrade rom 7 to 8, you need to set the lllibrary paths to your personal libraries again.
Either directly in the libraries, or in Preferences → Configure paths…

Please always list your OS.

1 Like