Library madness [linux]

Hi there. I’m new in KiCAD but I’ve worked with electronics long time. I decided to change from Eagle but… The libraries are so… I don’t even know how to describe this phenomenon.

I’ve created new footprint and 3D model for big square-shaped bridge rectifier. Everything work good until I try to add this peace of work to library base in KiCAD. After several approaches and big pain in the ass I’ve found that I have to run KiCAD as sudo user (linux stuff) and then I’m able to successfully do this. But it’s not the end of my troubles. After several hours of searching forums, watching youtube and huge load of frustration I’m not able to find my brand new footprints in CvPCB. It just doesn’t exist. I have even tried looking for manually part by part. There is just nothing more than standard library footprints… I’m going to cross oneself with my left leg now.

I’m strong motivated and heavily stubborn man so I’m real guy who can contribute KiCAD community but I have to at least start with some shit.

Can somebody help me? What’s wrong with my KiCAD version? It’s newest release from stable repo.

I’m a new user, but if you have to run as superuser to add a part to the library you are probably trying to add it to an existing library that you don’t have write permissions to as a normal user. You can change the permissions on those libraries, but what you really want to do is create a library of YOUR stuff. You can have a general library if you are going to reuse the parts in other designs or just a project specific library if this is the only time you will use the part.

If you make your own footprints, don’t put them in an existing lib. Make your own library in a folder where your operating systems user has write access. (usr/share/kicad is not a good folder for your own libs!)