Lib v6.0 vs 8.0

Hi everyone,
I decided to move from version 6 to version 8 because so many improvements have been made, and I was wondering a few things:

1. my name.kicad_sym and pcb name.pretty schema libraries need to be converted or are already fine as they are.
  2. I have been using KiCad for many years and I find myself having done many projects with version 5 and version 6. Now I want to switch to 8, but I know that I can convert to the newer version, but with a lot of pain… Now I can distinguish version 5 from 6 and if I have to make minimal changes to old projects I leave them as is without transforming them. but now I would also have a new version, and ok the new projects are with the new version, but how to manage the three versions I would have, given that 6 is confused with 8? Has anyone had this problem and solved it?
    Thank you

When moving from V5 to V6 I opened all my projects one by one and saved them with new version. I think that I had also to open all my symbol libraries and save them in new format.
The same procedure I used when moving V6->V7 but I abandoned a few projects that I don’t anticipate needing (like rev.A when I already have rev.B and rev.C). I plan to do it the same way when will be moving (in month or two) to V8. It takes some time but then using only current version has its advantages.

What sort of difficulties are you experiencing? If you do it “properly”, then conversion should be pretty much easy and painless.

• KiCad V4 had straight dependencies on external libraries, and if those external libraries are not available during conversion, then it will indeed be difficult.
  • KiCad V5 has is [project]-cache.lib and [project]-rescue.lib files and those are an important part of the project. Those files are also needed during the conversion.