LED WiFi Lamp/Mood Light Design

I’m somewhat new to KiCad and I’m currently working on building a very bright Wi-Fi enabled lamp/mood light! This is just a fun side project, from which I hope to gain more experience with electronics and KiCad.
I wanted to start this topic to share my work and get your insights along the way.

Here are the components of this project:

1. High power RGBW LEDs on an Aluminum Core PCB (KiCad)
    1. The Aluminum Core PCB will help manage heat dissipated from the LEDs
  2. RGBW PWM Driver PCB, FR-4 Core (KiCad)
    1. This LED driver is not integrated with the LEDs on the aluminum core PCB, since manufacturing with Aluminum Core PCBs is more expensive.
    2. The LED driver will generate less heat, thus an Aluminum Core PCB is not necessary
  3. A fan motor controller for active cooling. Situated in the lamp head (KiCad)
    1. Putting a motor in a lamp is unusual, but it will result in superb cooling.
  4. PCB with MCU and WiFi module (KiCad)
  5. User Interface PCB (KiCad)
    1. Some buttons or dials for the user to interact with the lamp
  6. Power supply (20V input, ~30+ Watts)
  7. Mechanical components
    1. Lamp body and joints to allow orientation of the lamp head to be changed

Here is a rough sketch of the design showing the locations of the important components (this is not final):

Some things to note about the design:

• The lamp head is going to be quite narrow and long for an aesthetic design (about 3cm in width and 30cm in length)
    • This also means that the fan is going be very small
  • The lamp head will be able to rotate on its major axis, meaning it can direct light up and around a room (functioning as a mood light) and can be directed down to serve as a regular lamp.

What I’ve done so far:

1. LED Board - finished
    1. 2 high power LEDs - IN-505FCHWV
    2. Thermal management: going to attach a few heat sinks on top of the LED PCB with thermal adhesive.
  2. LED Driver board - in progress