Layout Design in KiCad, How to create the circular ring in Kicad?

Can somebody please suggest how to design the pcb layout using KiCad. I am new in KiCad. Thanks in advance.

Use the circle, or draw arc commands on right hand side. If you need straight ends then you can make them with a small fill zone. Zones can be drawn and shaped in just about any way desired.

Another way is to approximate the circular segments completely made up of fill zones.

This spiral inductor program should do the trick even better.

1 Like

Thanks for your reply. will follow that. As I am new in KiCad, Just for my understanding, do I need to work on “schematic layout editor” and “symbol editor” or I can directly start designing from “PCB layout editor”

In general a design begins with a schematic.

From there you press F8 to transfer the information about components and nets to Pcbnew within which you then start to arrange components as desired and model the layout as needed.

You will need to go back and forth between schematic and layout to fine tune your design.
Can be tricky though lots of fun.

Hi before doing anything difficult, I would like to start something simple like this fig. circuit is for unit cell (1 ring with active/passive components). Can you please guide me how can I do that?

In this case it should be possible to make a reusable footprint.

Open the foot print editor.

• Click on create new foot print Cltr+N (top left symbol)
  • Place pads and make them smd pads likely without paste mask
  • Make the outer ring (shape/s) with the draw line/circle/arc commands on the rhs of screen
  • Size and place pins. Can’t tell from the picture if the ring has a gap

You can merge a pin with any shape/s by selecting the pin, one or more shapes.
Then right click ‘Create pad from selected shape’, and so on.

You need to play with it.

What’s the FET’s casing? TO-something?

Cheers