Laying out footprint with exposed pad

My design has utilizes a battery fuel gauge (LTC2943) which has an exposed pad which gets connected to the ground plane. Is the way I have set pad number 11 correct ? In the layout I will connect pad number 11 to the ground plane. Btw, I will be hand soldering this.

I pulled up a data sheet and it says connecting that pad is optional. Pins 2,3 and 7 are also ground. When you say you are gong to hand solder it do you mean you are going to try and run solder into the holes from the bottom side? Or do you just mean you are going to hand solder the other terminals on the chip? I’m just curious because I have no experience doing what you are proposing and it caught my attention.

Will hand solder all the other terminals. I might change the holes to smd pads and have vias going to the ground plane.

It says it is optional…but I think doing this would help with heat dissipation from the chip.

I haven’t verified dimensions against the datasheet, but it looks basically OK for providing a minimum amount of heatsinking to the IC.

About 2 years ago (when I was just starting with KiCAD) I used Linear’s LTC4011 in a design. It has a similar thermal pad on the bottom of the package, but connecting it to ground is REQUIRED. (A poor, or missing, ground connection causes damage to the IC. Sadly, I know this very well from experience.) On the board, the footprint’s back and front sides look like this (traces omitted for clarity):

These prototypes were intended to be hand-soldered. Note that I extended the thermal pad to create places where it could be touched by soldering irons. Without the thermal pad extensions it is impossible to manually solder the IC.