Layers, layers, wrong layers

I give up. I really done it this time. Here I thought my PCB was coming along well, and now it turns out I’m a newb.

I laid out everything as if the front of the board was facing me, and routed each component. The last step was to pour copper and stitch ground. Partway through that process, I very clearly saw that the green pour (bottom) was on top of the red pour (top). Ummm … that means my entire board is kind of a mirror image.

Let me get this straight: I have to visualise my board from the back and figure out how I want it to look like from the other side, all without seeing the other side? Is there a way around this – I’ve already messed up once and converting from front view (how my imagination dictates where each user-facing component must go) to back view (where components go as seen in KiCad) can and will be error-prone.

Who would think that the board must be designed “backwards,” looking through it from the back? Certainly not me … is this industry standard practise?

Select Tools/Layer pair from menu,you can change the top/bottom layer order.

You didn’t peak at it in the 3d view during the whole layout process? I’m not sure how you got it inverted. I’ve playing with the software for several months and never saw the top and bottom inverted.

Normally footprints are defined to be sitting at the F.Cu layer (plus F.Silk, F.Soldermask, etc…), so when you import the netlist and read in the footprints they should all be sitting on the front of your board.
To get them to the BACK, you actively have to switch them there (hover mouse pointer and hit [F] for example).

The KiCAD stables (as of now) have no way of showing the board mirrored from behind.
The nightlies can do this, but not the stables.

The OpenGL canvas shows the active layer (select in the righthand render menu) on top of the other layers… maybe that one got you confused, when creating the back filled zone?
The legacy canvas doesn’t do this.