Latest KiCAD release with Spice?

Hello,

I am a KiCad newbie but have used it for a small number pf boards. I became excited to see:

1. a video from CERN demonstrating the use of a spice simulator within KiCad, and
  2. the release of the new component symbol library and footprints in 17 December 2017
    Wanting to take advantage of both spice simulation and the new, well organized libraries, I downloaded and installed the 2017-12-16 nightly build, revision 845ca5f. However, I have run into the following problem.

I seem to be unable to get KiCad to use the new libraries. I have done the following:

1. Downloaded the new symbol library to the
    /Users/peter/CAD/Electronics/KiCad/KiCad-Library/kicad-symbols

Not yet finished. (Footprints are 95% done, symbols are about 60% done, 3d models also about 60%)

Footprints have also gotten major KLC compliance updates. (And scripted footprints have their scripts updated.) -> this could lead to new bugs.

You need to point kicad to these symbols. In a nightly release that includes the symbol table simply copy the included sym-lib-table file and make sure the environment variable KICAD_SYMBOL_DIR points to your symbol location.

For the stable release this is more involved. You need to add your location to the search path and then you also need to add the libs. (For every project or to the template project to add it automatically to every new project.)

Hello,

I must apologize for my keyboard error. Here is the complete question:

I am using a Mac running OS X 10.11.6 I am a KiCad newbie but have used it for a small number pf boards. I became excited to see:

1. a video from CERN demonstrating the use of a spice simulator within KiCad, and
  2. the release of the new component symbol library and footprints in 17 December 2017