Kicad with Geographic Reannotation Available for Test

I have been working for several months to incorporate RenumKicadPCB functionality inside Kicad. Meanwhile, Alexander Shuklin has done most of the heavy lifting by writing back-annotation into Kicad which does all of the error checking, etc., necessary for reannotation to work. Without his help I don’t think I could have done this.

Geographical re-annotation is under PCBNew/Tools. It should provide the same functionality as RenumKicadPCB but from within Kicad. I am hopeful I can submit a merge request which will be accepted so it will become part of the distribution. Of course, given my modest c++ skills I suspect that will not go smoothly!

I have tested the code with all the projects I used to test RenumKicadPCB and it appears to work. Besides renumbering correctly, it seems to detect project errors such as modules in the PCB which are not in the schematic, etc.

I would be grateful if people who are interested in this functionality would help test it and let me know if they have any problems or suggestions.

The source code is at

Of course this is test software and not yet part of the official Kicad distribution.

4 Likes

I would love to test this.

Do you happen to have a compiled version of this for Windows you could share?
I’m usually a Linux user but on Windows 10 at the moment…so it would take me a while to figure out how to get this build.
I’d really appreciate it.

okelk

I certainly do have a compiled version of Windows as I developed it on Windows. The problem is that the Windows development environment results in a sort of linux-like tree structure (bin/etc) and I have to figure out how to bundle it up for use in a proper Windows environment. I’ll let you know when I figure this out.

Brian

1 Like

I get compilation error on Linux.

/work/ohjelmointi/kicad/kicad/pcbnew/tools/pcb_renum_tool.cpp:5:10: fatal error: dialogs/DIALOG_BOARD_RENUM_base.h: No such file or directory