KiCad Window not showing

Hi everybody,

I am running the latest KiCad (4.0.2) on Windows 10. However, the KiCad Window does not show. If I press Alt-TAB to toggle between programs, the window is shown in the preview but not as an actual, usable window. I already had the same issue with 4.0.1 and updating to 4.0.2 helped for a short time - one program start to be precise. I am now stuck with using eeschema and then changing to pcbnew etc. from there.

Is this a known issue?

Regards
Cord

1 Like

What happen if you minimize and maximize the windows?
Could it be possible that you have multiple screens and it is show on a hide / not used screen?

When I maximize and minimize the windows the KiCad Windows gets the focus (it is highlighted in the task bar) but does not show up as a window. All other windows work normal, only the KiCad Window is affected.

I do have a 2 Monitor setup but the issue persists if I disconnect the external monitor. And I have been using KiCad for several years now on the same hardware and never had the problem before.

KiCAD stores window positions and sizes in the settings files…

I don’t know if the folder is the same for windows 10, but this is the location in windows 7:

C:\Users\JohnDoe\AppData\Roaming\kicad

Open a file called kicad, first lines should be something like this:

KicadFramePos_x=753
KicadFramePos_y=478
KicadFrameSize_x=918
KicadFrameSize_y=568
KicadFrameMaximized=0

Those values make the KiCAD window appear on one screen of a dual monitor setup (2x 1650x1050, side by side) at the lower right - season to taste or ability of your setup :sunglasses:

2 Likes

Thank you very much for the tip: I got my window back :slightly_smiling:
It must have been at some off-screen position. I still wonder how that happened - maybe KiCad was on the big screen (1920x1080) last time and wanted to open with the position on the smaller screen.

Anyhow. I got it back now and know what to do for the future :slight_smile: