KiCad v5 Nightly install suddenly became v6 nightly

As I wanted to know (and also ask on this forum) whether my KiCad 5 nightly install had been updated automatically to 5 official release I checked the version/build info under Help --> About KiCad, to my surprise I see instead version 6 nightly, how did this happen?Kicad%205%20nightly%20became%206%20nightly

Also, I would like to know how should I proceed in order to get v5 official release installed, thanks.

ps. I should add that I am a Linux beginner on Xubuntu 18.04.

Your nightly install is automatically the latest code, that’s what nightly builds are… I’m surprised that you are surprised :slight_smile:

This is a very FAQ… People who use nightlies are exposed to the KiCad development cycle, without realising what they are getting into.

Nightly builds are built from the latest “master” branch. The master branch is where the very latest code is pushed. During normal development, the master branch is “tagged” with the name of the next release target, in this case 6.0.0-rc1 will be the next “Release Candidate” . Leading up to a release, a “feature freeze” takes place, which means only bug fixes, and low risk changes are made. Major features are not pushed to master.

When the major release is made, a “release branch” is created. The release branch is used to generate “stable releases”, only bug fixes are allowed on the release branches. This allows the master to “unfreeze”, it can now accept major feature changes.

3 Likes

… but the string seem to have been edited manually, it’s not necessarily the next release target. At the moment the next real release target is 5.1. There’s no 6.0-only work in the “master” branch.

Look at Nightlies as being 5.1 alpha for now and the alpha should be a big clue to handle with care

Thanks for the replies, I feel bad to say it but I’m not sure I did grasp the whole thing, perhaps I am confusing myself what a “nightly” build means.
For instance VLC player: