KiCad software architecture

Hi guys,

I’m new to KiCad and I find it amazing. I’m sure in some time it will compete side to side with commercial alternatives.

I would like to contribute to KiCad’s development in the near future. I’m an EE and I know plenty of C and some C++.

Right now I have been reading on how to do this from https://dev-docs.kicad.org and https://docs.kicad.org/doxygen/.

At the moment I would like to have a high level description of Eeschema’s software architecture. The idea is to see a bird’s eye view, so to be able to understand it on a high level first, so it will be easier to know where to look in the source code.

If someone can tell me how to get started on this, I would appreciate it a lot.

Thanks!

Cmos

P.S. The link under CONTRIBUTE->DEVELOPERS in kicad.org is broken

First things first: make sure you register on thw mailing list and if you plan on writing any new features: discuss these plans before you write any new code. The last thing you want is to write loads of code and then find out that your approach goes against the vision of the project.

The “high-level” view in itself would be a large thing to write as there are a lot of complex interacting elements and nobody has time to maintain such a complex document that changes continually. Basically, this is handled via doxygen documentation. My opinion is that the best way to learn the code is to read it and use it.

My suggestion is that you should first try to get KiCad building on your machine. This can be a bit tricky if you’ve not done it before.

After that try fixing some “simple” bugs to start with. There are some with the “starter” tag in Gitlab which have been assessed to be suitable for a new comer - i.e. not many interacting elements at play.

After you’ve fixed a few bugs you’ll start to get an intuition for how things are generally organised, making it easier to find your way around the code.

If you have more specific questions, feel free to ask!

4 Likes