Kicad slow to use...any tips on speeding up?

Hi,
When i am editring in schem editor, the mouse seems to move slowly, when i select a sub-circuit , it doesnt select straight away, everything seems kind of delayed and in slow motion…including the connecting of nets, etc. Do you know how i can speed it up?. I am a transferring eagle pro user, not using that any more as kicad is getting more common in co’s.

What is your kicad version?

There must be something wrong with the setup, because Kicad runs reasonably swiftly on even early Core I5 machines. Provide more info on your setup: machine specs, OS, kicad version, etc.

Make it Core 2 Duo from 2008 :slight_smile:

What OS, how much RAM, what graphics card?

Indeed I have had a similar experience with various nightly builds 5.99 on Windows 10 (in contrast to 5.1.6, about three months ago), not caring about any settings, just installing and running Eeschema.

I have had a i9 with 32G of main memory, but without graphics card, just Intel’s on board graphics (a C program development machine for ngspice). Only installing an extra graphics card (NVIDIA 1650) helped immediately, again without tinkering with any settings.

So it might be wise to get a hint or a link to which settings might be optimized, if the machine is not optimized (even if this has already been provided elsewhere).

Me to, until recently I used a Dualcore from that era with a Passmark rating of 1500 and KiCad run just fine, even with 4GB RAM.

Using the acceleration of your video card is a noticeable difference:
Preferences / Modern Toolset (Accelerated)

There are some known issues with video cards that do not work nicely with KiCad:

(Weird, I thought there were some issues with some graphics cards on the link above, but the seem to have disapeared (maybe the bugs are fixed?)