KiCAD PPT Presentation Overview for Radio and Electronics Clubs

Hello, One thing I had not found on the forum or the web was a KiCAD presentation overview suitable for radio and electronics clubs like mine here in Rochester, NY, USA. So I made one. It isn’t fantastic but it did the job and thought I would share it with others to use for their local clubs. Maybe others can make this better (but not longer) and translate this for your local communities. The powerpoint format presentation (edited in open office 4.1.3) is HERE for your download. Comments invited. Thanks.

4 Likes

nice primer on all things KiCAD.
Might point out the official documentation a bit more.

That’s a bit strict, as so far we haven’t had the same question every other day over and over yet afaik. :wink:
It’s also nice to see newcomers post answers to easy questions, if they know them and help absolute beginners.
Helping others is pretty rewarding I think, especially when you get feedback that it helped.
So I wouldn’t (yet) discourage people from experiencing this, by sending everyone into the archive with reading glasses and a magnifying lens before one is ‘allowed’ to ask ‘dumb’ questions :nerd:

3 Likes

On the other hand, It’s good to know BEFORE I make the effort to compose a thorough answer, that the question comes from somebody who has enough interest, and enough initiative, to invest a little of his own time into finding an answer.

We have very few posts that abuse the helpfulness, or disrespect the time, of Forum members. Even so, if you want to post something like:
“How can I make those copper circle things on a PC board?”
at least mention that:
“I searched the Forum for ‘donuts’ and didn’t find anything”.
Then I can answer with:
“Try searching the Forum - and the “HELP” documents - for ‘pads’.”

Dale
ex-WA8VTN, ex-KF0DU

3 Likes

The forum is not yet mature enough to have huge daily traffic with the same questions.