KiCad on Ubuntu 20

Developers, is there some date to the official KiCad release at Ubuntu 20? (Nightly versions) Will it be released together with the official OS release?

Also is there some plan to create a general package system such snap?

I’m not a developer, but I can say that KiCad releases aren’t coordinated with any OS release. The main developers don’t package KiCad (although there’s no reason they couldn’t, the core developers and the packagers are different people ATM).

Snap or other packages are created if the famous “someone” takes that responsibility. Maintained packages can be added to the web page. Some packages which once were maintained but then left unmaintained have even been removed from the list.

On Debian you can install KiCad V5.1.5 via “backports”, at least for Buster, which is now stable.

In theory the packaging of programs for Linux is a wonderful concept. In practice it looks like a big mess to me. Edit: eelik is right of course, there are far more Linux distro’s (1000’s) than packaging systems ( 10 or so?).

If you want anything apart from some programs that are “historically included” or are very big, (such as Firefox) then it seems you enter a jungle and are not much better of then windows, where most people seem to download random programs from the internet and install them without giving thought to it, or people who do not dare to install anything anymore.

I recently installed KiCad V5.1.5 via the js-reynaud ppa, and I guessed they woud be trustworthy, but how do you know?
No offence to jsreynaud, but my global thought process is that I can trust anything that I can install with apt, and at least have to be careful with anything else.
But how can you be careful? When do you trust a stranger?
Some time ago I installed platformio. It took me about 2 months to do it, just because there is no trust. Platformio is also installed via pip, (a python thing) and from what I understand it can install about anything from random sources.