KiCad License | Software Usage

Hello Team KiCad,

I am posting this question to verify the usage policies of the KiCad Software. How do I get in touch with the concerned authorities to know if i may use the software for training purposes. I am a Software Developer working for a company in germany and I would like to know if my trainees are allowed to download the software for free and use it only for training purposes. In case , i am required to purchase a license for all the Trainees, i would be happy to get in touch with the concerned team. Any help in this regard would be appreciated. Please advise.

Regards,

Krishna

Thank you so much for your response. I have gone through the terms , however, i do not find relevant information to the question i have posted. I would like to know if my Trainees may use the software for free and for educational purposes.

Basically, yes. The GPL is mainly about software code changes. You are expected to ‘give back’ so everyone else has the benefit that you ‘tagged along on’. As you describe it, that use is openly encouraged. That’s how the user base grows and the project along with it.

Yes. KiCad is free to download, install and use for anyone interested in the project.

Your students may use Kicad to make their own projects, make PCB’s, either for personal use for others, or even commercial projects.

As said before. (The source code of) KiCad itself is licensed under GPL (and this is not the snare microsoft has mislead many people to believe). When you just want to use the software, you do not even have to concern yourself much with this licensing.

When Using KiCad, the license for the libraries is more important.

What does this mean?