KiCAD bugs or mistakes I made?

Hello all, it is my first time using KiCAD and I love it so far but I encountered a few bugs (or I’m doing something wrong) with the program.

First issue I experienced was inside the 3D viewer. Board was black when I preview it, I went to settings and changed solder mask top/bottom to blue color. Everything was ok but I couldn’t see my traces so I went to change opacity of the layer, and changed it to predefined blue.
After I hit ok on this window, board goes black again and when I went to setting, colors I changed seconds ago were black again:

Why is this happening ?

Another bug I encountered was with adding shapes to board. Adding shapes works, but when I double click to edit shape, let’s say to change circle to filled, and upon pressing OK, nothing happens, dialog window doesn’t close and changes are not applied.

At a guess I’d say you don’t have write permissions to the folder where your settings are saved.

Not sure about editing shapes. That one sounds pretty weird…

What do I need to do to have write permissions ? I tried to run the program as an administrator but it didn’t help.
Problem is, that settings are saved if I use colors that have 100% opacity, when I lower the opacity level, that’s when the color resets to black.

I’m not sure transparent solder mask colors are supported (well). Solder mask generally should be slightly transparent regardless of selected color. Can you post a screenshot with an opaque color selected? Maybe there’s an issue with your graphics driver/card. Or you just expect it to me more transparent than intended by the developers?

I don’t want a transparent solder mask, I want it to be slightly transparent.
I tried custom colors, but I also tried pre-defined colors such as blue, red, or green. The same thing happens with those colors.

Here is the image with pre-defined red color where opacity is set to 100%:

As soon as I change color opacity to just 99%, board goes black.