Jumper wires

Hi all.
I am new to KiCad after using DipTrace for many years.
I ‘make’ most of my PCB’s on perfboard as to save money and they work OK.
I created my first schematic in KiCad and started the PCB layout only to find that KiCad does not have a way to put in wire links on a single sided PCB.
DipTrace uses a very simple way so that all you do is press J this places a pad then changes the layer, run the link, press J and all done. Can KiCad implement this system into PCB layout? How does one make a suggestion to the team?
I know others have suggested laying out as a 2 sided PCB using ‘large vias’ but it’s not the ‘real’ way of doing things.
I hope I haven’t offended anybody with my comments as I find that KiCad is a really good tool.
Thanks
Mike

I don’t see that using the second Cu layer as a jumper layer, and large vias or PTHs is not “real”. It works, no? Given that two Cu layer is now the basic offering I doubt if any effort will be put into one Cu layer support. But if you want to try to convince people the Feature Request Chat category is there.

Why not? What’s the difference?
Especially for home etching where you probably don’t have a soldermask.

And for:

I also make quick prototypes on perfboard / matrix board / proto board, whatever that stuff is called. I don’t do it for saving money, but for saving (turnaround) time, and for prototypes for which I don’t even know what the final circuit is going to be. Nothing wrong with that.