John's Basement on YouTube KiCAD Tutorials

I’m very new to KiCAD, started with version 4 (I’m pretty sure) several years ago, pulled a lot of hair out trying to acclimate to it’s methods, then set it aside in frustration. Kept up with forum post, though and also upgraded to Version: (5.1.6)-1, release build.

I was no stranger to single, double and 4 layer designs & builds from 30 years ago using Mylar and tape, B&W negatives, etc. but KiCAD, and the famous Eagle, was a whole new paradigm.

I would search for YouTube vid tutorials but none helped “crack the nut”, until I found John’s Basement KiCAD series on YouTube.

Thank you, thank you thank you to John for his KiCAD YouTube vids.

I’m almost finished with my first project, just beginning my 3rd re-visit on the pcbnew layout process and having much more success at it.

Schematic with symbols, symbol annotations and footprint assignments - Done
Netlist created and double-checked - Done
Electrical Rules check w/zero errors - Done (this was major hurdle but taught me a lot w/John’s vids helping)
Now starting the pcb layout process and as a result, refined some symbols and footprints in the process.

This is quite an amazing software package.

1 Like

To what extent did you try to study it beforehand versus just “diving in”??? My understanding is that we do not have wide + deep training material for KiCad 6. But this forum does a great job in my opinion, and I think I am one of those people who learns best by “diving in.” It sounds like maybe you are trying to do that and I recommend it.