JLCPCB and LGA-14L, clearence issue

I’m new to PCB design, which is probably a good thing to keep in mind when reading my problem below.

I want to create a board which contains an ST LSM6DS IMU with a LGA-14L footprint, and I was intending to have JLCPCB produce it. But, it seems that the footprint is not compatible with the 0,127 mm clearance that I think JLCPCB requires. If I put in 0,127 mm in KiCad, the ERC complains about the pad-to-pad distance of this footprint.

But I’m sort of confused since JLCPCB also have this component in their parts library, so it feels like I’m missing something. I looked at both the footprint from Digikeys library, and the one in standard KiCad libraries, and both fail the 0,127 mm clearance rule. Could the solution be to create a custom footprint with smaller pads?

Could it be related with https://gitlab.com/kicad/code/kicad/-/commit/737262ffa869ed2b0b04ae18b8e2d53ba021de10? (doesn’t allow the clearance to be exactly equal to the rule)

No I think the ERC check works ok, it’s only 0,1 mm between the pads. I’m just confused since JLCPCB seems to have this part in their SMD parts library, which seems strange if they can’t actually produce PCBs to mount it on?

It might be a good idea to at lest link to the datasheet of the device in question and possibly give the full name of the footprint in the standard library and possibly also a link to the footprint provided by jlcpcb.

Ok, looking at the datasheet and their footprint recommendations you can have up to 0.25mm between pads.

That’s a courtyard issue not tracking though

Could you simply ask JLCPCB?

1 Like

Right, sorry for missing some obviously useful info.

Datasheet for the part is here: https://www.st.com/resource/en/datasheet/lsm6ds3.pdf
The footprint in KiCad is called “LGA-14_3x2.5mm_P0.5mm_LayoutBorder3x4y”