Is there a way to simulate on the PCB?

Im very new in KiCad and I just will send the prototype to a cheap PCB company to manufacture like allpcb.com.
But I want to be sure if my schematics was correct. Because I simulate it in LtSpice any mistake will not be seen in KiCad.
Is it possible to simulate after routing is done in the PCB?

1 Like

I think not even very expensive tools have the options to simulate the complete pcb.
For chips there are tools like cadance that can read out the parasitics from the layout and simulate with them. But these tools are very expensive!

Do you really need a simulation or do you only want to check if your pcb is equal to your schematic?
The later is done with the design rule check (DRC).

By the way a simulation does not guarantee that your design works. It only shows that under the mathematical models used for simulation the design behaves as shown in the simulation. (Good models get close to reality.)

2 Likes

I can check with DRC if pcb is equal to your schematic. But at least I want to be sure if I draw schematics correct. I redraw it from LtSpice schematics. But in KiCad I cant simulate it. So imagine I draw connect input to a wrong junction. It would be very bad and hard to detect without simulation. Is there a way to simulate in KiCad at least at schematics view?

In new versions of kicad (nightly) simulation is possible. But as i said above: Simulation alone is not enough to ensure good design. (Don’t expect that you will measure the same signals as you get from the simulation. With our current technology we can not recreate reality as a complete mathematical model.

For checking the design there are limited options. You can use the electrical rule check. (ERC) It gives limited help for frequently made errors.

It is also quite hard to estimate what you need if we don’t know your application.
Simulation of digital signals is quite easy. Analog signals are a lot harder.