Is it just me - or are many of the footprints in the default library not correct?

So I’m really new to electronics, so maybe this is just me being a noob… But the footprints that I pull up from the readily available KiCad library, sure don’t look right. For example, the Arduino UNO R3. Now, I’m not planning to use this, but I wanted to use it as a point of reference. I am no expert on electronics drawings, but this sure doesn’t look like a one-to-one representation of the hardware that is in front of me.

I’ve seen several like this. I’m assuming that I’m to be able to use these footprints to mark a PCB. It would be super nice, then, if everything was where it was supposed to be. If there’s a secret to reading this a different way, please clue me in. I’m lost.

I’m not sure but the UNO R3 footprint is probably for a shield. Look under templates for the project files.

OK, maybe that’s my problem.

Where do I find simple things - like JST connectors or Dupont headers? I have been using the generic connector, 1X, but am not sure if this is the right thing?

Thanks for your fast response.

The generic is fine for the schematic symbol. You then choose a footprint to go with it. I see JST in the footprint editor as a selection. I think the Dupont are pin headers. You just need to know the spacing.

I wasn’t able to find JST, either by search or filter. Possible that I don’t have something installed? Or maybe can you show the full name string? Thanks again…

Remember, this is a footprint to be paired with the symbol. Something like a 2 pin connector can have dozens of footprints that could be associated with it. What OS are you using? It could be a packaging problem. Shouldn’t be though. I think everyone just uses the libraries ‘as is’ provided by the Kicad team.

Dang, can’t find that. I’m using Windows 10. Can’t find anything that resembles a pin header, either. It must be a missing install component, because that should be a core object.